Safety Awards

We would like to congratulate the following people for our safe driving awards recognition.


Zac Morris for 10 years Safe Driving



Ken Taylor for 10 years Safe DrivingKen Taylor



Mark Atwell 5 years Safe DrivingMark Atwell




Years of Safe Driving Awards

We had the honor yesterday during our employee appreciation picnic to recognize all of our Years of Safe Driving Awards:
Danny Adkins- 45 years award
Dale Cox- 25 years award
Kenneth Ayers- 20 years award
Ronald Schoonover- 10 years award
James Tooley- 10 years award
Kenneth Taylor- 10 years award
Mark Atwell- 5 years award
David Hartman- 5 years award
Charles Mills- 5 years award
Jeff Carr- 5 years award
Gerald Blunt- 5 years award
James Alligood- 5 years award
Willie Stump- 5 years award
Also, we recognized VP of Maintenance- Mike Fulk(30 years of service), Trailer Shop Mechanic- Sam Law(33 years of service), & Parts Manager- John Marshall(45 years of service) as they are retiring at the end of the year. We look forward to celebrating their many years of dedication and accomplishments with them at the end of the year!

Celebrating Rit Wagoner’s 90th Birthday

A great day celebrating Rit Wagoner’s 90th birthday. He has given the company so much in the 48 years he worked for Houff Transfer. Below is just a few people that celebrated with him that day. The picture also shows over 312 years of service and dedication to Houff Transfer. Happy birthday Rit.

2022 VTA Fleet Safety Award goes to Houff Transfer Inc.

Our next award recognizes outstanding fleet safety performance. The Grand Trophy for Fleet Safety is awarded to the company which, in the opinion of the judges, had the best overall safety record and program during calendar year 2022.
Safety is simply part of this company’s DNA 🧬 which is why on every truck and at each terminal, they have written the words: “Safety Starts Here.”
They regularly reward their drivers and shop employees for their individual and collective safety records. Every three months that the entire company goes without a lost-time injury, they hold an employee drawing for a free television or satellite radio. When the company goes an entire 12 months without a lost time injury, the drawing is for a new 4×4 pickup truck! 🛻
In 2009, this company became the first motor carrier to ever win the Virginia Board of Transportation Governor’s Safety Award for Motor Carrier Safety, an award that is usually given to a law enforcement agency.
Obviously, our winner is a very safety-focused company and as they say the proof is in the pudding. In 2022, their drivers traveled over 5 million miles and only had 1 accident out of 158 drivers.
This company is an active member of the VTA, with 8 employees having attended 14 different Association events in the last year alone. Their immediate past Safety Director was previously named the VTA Safety Professional of the Year and chaired a our annual Safety & HR Conference many times. They are almost always the first to answer the call to help whether that be by volunteering with Virginia Tech Transportation Institute (VTTI)’s Sharing the Road program or by providing over 100 chairs at last year’s state truck driving championships.
The 2023 Grand Trophy for Fleet Safety Award goes to Houff Transfer, Inc.!
May be an image of 1 person


We celebrated Ray Cason’ s final full day of work before retirement after 31 years(almost 32years) at Houff Transfer as a Tire/Trailer Shop Technician. There isn’t a tire in our fleet Ray didn’t work on to ensure our drivers stayed safe and on the road! We will miss Rays always positive attitude and dedication. He will forever be part of our Houff Transfer family and we wish him many happy years of retirement ahead!

Weight loss program

Houff Transfer strives to keep our employees healthy & safe. In those efforts, we offer our employees & spouses a weight loss incentive each year which encourages healthy living! We pay our winners $15 per pound of weight lost!
Congratulations to this year’s winners who lost a combined total of 114 pounds for a total of $1,710!

2022 BIGGEST LOSER goes to Jeff Carr, followed by

  • Christie Carr

  • Jessica Rhodenizer

  • Lisa Cox

  • Devin Singleton

  • Anthony Miller

Congratulations everyone! Who wants to be the BIGGEST LOSER in 2023?